Mike and Ikes Gluten Free

Are Mike and Ikes Gluten Free and Safe?

Mike and Ike is a famous candies brand that offers different flavors including Strawberry, Lime, Cherry, Orange, and Lemon. The brand was introduced in 1940 by the company Just Born, Inc. However, the candy’s name origin remains unknown despite the many conjectures.

Initially, Mike and Ikes were fruit flavored although numerous varieties have been introduced over the years. Some of the Candies are made of natural Fruit Juice and reading from the company’s website,  mike and ikes are produced with care, with the main aim being to make the candies favorable and win the market.

The company ran an ad campaign in April 2012 based on the premise that Mike and Ike were “breaking up”. They commented that the cause of breaking up was creative differences and that the intentions of the campaign were to capture the younger consumers’ interest.

The reunion of mike and ike was later announced where they settled their differences and came up with a re-designed packaging and juicier-tasting candy. Additionally, they released a movie series known as the Return of Mike and Ike.

Mike and Ikes Gluten Free

So, Are Mikes and Ikes Gluten Free?

Well, Mike and Ikes candies are gluten and dairy free. They are tree nuts, peanuts, eggs, fish shellfish, peanuts, soy, and wheat free. However, the company states that some of the processing facilities handle non-gluten-free products. It’s always advisable to always read the nutrition and ingredient labels carefully.

As mentioned, mike and ikes are originally fruit-flavored chewing candies that come in numerous varieties. The varieties include orange, lemon, lime, cherry, and strawberry. The popular varieties include Jolly Joes, Tropical Typhoon, and Berry Blas. Each candy comes with approximately 1 gram of sugar, 7 calories, and 0 grams of fat.

Mikes and Ikes Ingredients

The chewing candies are made from numerous ingredients ranging from Modified Food Starch to Sugar, and Corn Syrup. The ingredients have less than 0.5% of the Following: Sodium Citrate, Malic Acid, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Malic Acid, Confectioners Glaze, Fumaric Acid, Carnauba Wax, and Medium Chain Triglycerides.

Kashrut is dietary law that deals with foods permitted to Jews. Consumable food is deemed kosher. A gluten-free diet (GFD) is a strict nutrition plan excluding gluten. Gluten is a protein mixture found in wheat. Gluten may cause systemic and gastrointestinal disorders in the body.

Most people wonder if the Mike and Ikes chewing candies are safe. The candies are made from artificial dyes ingredients and added sugars which might not be too favorable.

Gluten-Free Products

As its well-known, Mike and Ikes company has a number of varieties. This makes it difficult to clearly say that all products are gluten-free. To answer the question, Starbursts, fuzzy peaches, and Caramilk bars are some of the gluten-free products. All Swedish Fish flavors are gluten-free. All sour Mike and Ikes are gluten-free.

Berry Blast candies are made with real fruit juice making them Gluten free. Additionally, Mega Mix is gluten-free. They contain calories, sodium, and added sugars. Although Snickers candy bars are not labeled Certified Gluten-Free, they are gluten-free. Does the sentence contradict itself? The answer is no. The actual ingredients that make Snickers candy bars do not contain gluten.

Additionally, Hot Tamales are non-gluten since their ingredients do not contain any gluten products. The products are made on shared equipment. However, the manufacturer considers gluten an allergy hence cleaning all production lines in between runs ensures safety from food contamination. Hershey’s kisses are also free from gluten.

Among the varieties, the Traditional silver-wrapped Hershey’s kisses Hug candy are free from gluten. Additionally, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are free from gluten except for the seasonal shapes.

There are numerous brands of Gummy Bears although not all of them are free from gluten. However difficult it is to keep track of all the brands, Black Forest brands are gluten-free To be safe. It’s also highly recommended to check the nutrition label on every gummy bear package of your choice.

Non-Gluten Free Products

That said, however, there are some products of Mike and Ikes that are not clear to be gluten-free. A product like Jolly Rancher does not include a label of ingredients. This leaves the public with unanswered questions. Both Airhead Bars and Airheads are gluten-free. However, they are manufactured in a wheat processing facility making them vulnerable to cross-contamination.

Additionally, nerds don’t have gluten ingredients. They are processed in a non-gluten-free facility. Before consuming them, ensure to read the label to ensure your safety.

However, ingredients may change, and it’s always wise to read the label. The FDA standards have not fully evaluated the product to be gluten-free. Twizzlers products contain wheat as one of the ingredients making them non-gluten-free.

How Safe Are Mike and Ikes Candy?

If you want a Gluten-free diet, it’s true you are limited in choices when it comes to candies. All candies that contain wafers, pretzels, or cookie pieces are potentially not free from gluten. Additionally, all Doritos are not gluten-free except for one flavor, Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips. This is the only flavor that Frito Lay lists as being gluten-free. Cheetos are also considered to be gluten-free. However, they are not certified gluten-free and no one can say that they are 100% free.

Rolos are also not certified to be free from gluten. nevertheless, The Hershey Company list them as gluten-free. However, Rolo Mini’s is not on the list of gluten-free candies. Additionally, Airheads products passed the test of gluten-free. However, this includes all the Airheads except for the Airheads Xtremes.

Sour Patch Watermelon candy is not on the list of gluten-free products. However, this does not mean that the ingredients that make it are not gluten-free.

Skittles fish are also safe and free from gluten. However, it’s only advisable to look at the ingredients too. Additionally, Swedish Fish Mini Red White & Blue Soft & Chewy Candy are free from gluten.

Currently, Brach’s candy corn ingredients are free from gluten. However, Farley’s & Sather’s company does not guarantee 100% gluten-free products. Their manufacturing process is likely to have cross-contamination.

Mike and Ikes Gluten Free


Considering all factors, Mike and Ikes are safe to eat. They are found in many varieties and with different flavors. Mike and Ikes are readily available in large stocks. The varieties of Mike and Ike are all over the market. You can even order the candies online.

However, before consuming any Mike and Ike, it’s only advisable to look at the manufactures descriptions. This will help you to know whether the type you are about to consume is free from gluten.